2013, a bad year it seems.

Football season is back !

so far this year has been pretty much a disaster. I’ve just missed out on another job. The job I really wanted. Whilst I await the feedback, I’m told I was’nt far away, which makes it even worse I think. This isn’t the first time I’ve heard this either. I guess I’m the silver medallist of job interviews.

In my early forties, with children and a wife, I lost my job in 2012 when my employer closed up and after a bit of a kerfuffle decided not to open again. Since then, I’ve applied and interviewed lots of positions and been successful only once. I worked for a couple of days at a large multi-national logistics company before being laid off by text message. It was a zero hour contract. This time however I thought I stood a very good chance. I’ve done lots of volunteering and gained tons of experience in the field so to speak. When I attended the interview, which was a series scenarios, I really thought I’d done well. Even though I get very nervous at interviews, I was sure I’d hit my targets and got all the right answers and comments in the right place.

i was truly gutted by not getting selected, and feel a mixture of emotions, and anger. Sick, hopeless, nervous, scared, fraud, helpless, and sorry. I’ve let down my family, myself and put them under immense pressure. With nothing on the horizon I’m looking at 2013 being struck off as another terrible year. If you were to ask me what I did now, I’d say I don’t know ? My wife would probably say I’m addicted to twitter and Facebook, my children the same, but may also add playing tennis on the Wii. I need to find some form of income before the very real risk of losing my home becomes a reality. My wife has found some work, which will help but we need to have more. The national minimum wage is a precarious place to be, and very fragile when your used to a much higher level of hourly pay. Not that I’m complaining, I’m just getting desperate.

i guess 2013 is going to best described as our most challenging year as a family. If we can survive this, well who knows. Until the feeling of sickness and failure leaves, I’ll just go back to watching the football.

7 thoughts on “2013, a bad year it seems.

  1. I am so sorry to hear about what has happened to you this year. It must be very scary and stressful for all concerned. I do hope you get something soon. I like the way you have set this blog out, and your content interests me. What I would say, however, is that you have quite a few typos, so it might be worth editing your work in future. Best of luck! Alienora

  2. Wish you luck for future interviews 🙂

    Having a blog will I hope help you get less desperate and more concentrated about the points that really matter. Like you said you get nervous before an interview.. Why be nervous? Either you give your best or you lose it.. I’ll share my experience with you, the last interview I gave I had malaria and 104 degree fever, but I was determined to get the job, and I did. I was sweating like a pig in the AC becuase of tension of interview but in the last 30 minutes, I decided today its do or die, I give my best, no other thoughts today! It worked like magic… Easy said than done, but worth a try buddy 🙂

    All the best 🙂

  3. The reality of recession only hit hard when I read posts like yours. We’ve been fortunate to live in a country less hit by recession but I know where you are coming from. I hope things turn around for you soon. It will. Keep faith, as I’ve learned, things have a way of falling into place. And keep writing, its a great place to blow off steam. 🙂 🙂 Good luck and if you would let us know which your area of expertise is, then I can keep a look out for opportunities too. I am a believer in knocking all doors. You never know who might answer. 🙂

    Following your blog. Find me at http://beingnenne.wordpress.com/

  4. So sorry to hear about your troubles. A couple of years ago I was in a similar situation. It was very hard to find a job and was quickly depleting my savings and charging the plastic. Things will get better one day at a time. Just count your blessings and keep trying. Something will come when the time is right for you. I would strongly suggest networking. During this down time use it to gather skills by going to school or reading about the industry you wish to join. Best of luck to you.

Leave a Reply

